After undertaking the 5500Kms road trip from Bangalore to Rajasthan last year me and my husband got the taste of first real road adventure. After we came back from that road trip we had memories that we discussed for months and it would paint a smile every time on our face!!!

Few month ago, in Dec’14 we came to know that one of our friends was getting married in Chaibasa (60Kms from Jamshedpur(which happens to be my hometown) in Jharkhand) .The wedding was in February’15. My husband was really eager on attending the wedding but strangely he was not showing too much interest in the train tickets/flight tickets (which was really fishy, I should have understood..:|). So, I assumed that he might not be that keen after all and the topic just got dropped off.

A week before the wedding when I asked my better half to at least send out a gift for the friend’s wedding he said that he is planning to go along with some of our college folks by train. I thought the obvious – ‘tatkal ticket’ (the on the go ticket facility which is available in limited number and is given on first come first serve basis )which he would be aiming for, given the fact that flight fares were too costly. Later, came to know of his ulterior motive of Roadtrip to Jharkhand.

So, let me get this straight – a sudden, unplanned road trip…ok…4500Kms…in 5 days…well….I didnt know what to say. I was obviously not too happy with this option. One day before the tatkal  ticket was supposed to open I had quietly prayed to God to let my husband have the tickets so that, he doesn’t get to go by road(I am sure my husband prayed otherwise…!!) I remembered before going to sleep that day my husband smiled at me and said that one of us was going to be very happy the next day(I was hoping against odds that it would be me..)

The fated day arrived and as expected my husband informed me that they could not arrange for the tickets so, he and one of the other friend had no option but to drive there(he sounded as though he had no option but to take the roadtrip…but I knew that he was smiling broadly on the other side of the phone). Keeping my husband’s sentiments in mind and the fact that both the guys are good drivers and have highway driving experience I actually considered the plan. My husband was really excited about the trip but yes…he was waiting for me to be ok with him to go for the roadtrip(yeah confusing…but its one of those husband-wife emotions). I thought and thought and thought…and could not say no to him as he really wanted to go. We knew that this  road trip would be quite tiring so, my husband had already talked me out of it(actually I opted out of it myself, never thought about joining it).

I just thought that I would inform my parents as well that my husband would be crossing Tatanagar so he would come by. My parents were elated by the news and they just asked as to what time would he be coming along(They never enquired about the mode of travel so, I never cared mentioning it either…:p:p. Assumption was he would take a flight/train, I suppose!!)

On the day of the roadtrip(25th Feb 15, Wednesday) before leaving for my office I said good-bye and asked my husband to take care. He would be gone in the afternoon before I come back so, I would see him after 5 days!!

In the office, I could not concentrate on my work. I couldn’t let him go alone, also, I had the prospect to visiting my home even if that was just for 24 hrs. I went to my manager told her that I won’t be in peace in the office if my husband was out on a road trip for the next 5 days. I asked her for the two days leave which fortunately I got. At 12:30 noon I called up my husband and told him that I was coming along…and that is how we ‘planned’ this Road Trip or more over this is how the road trip happened to us(especially me)…:):)

I will be writing about the road-trip in my next post…..Thanks for reading this..Please stay tuned:)